You will be able to view original documents from the start of the document ordering and reader registration times until The National Archives closes.

  • Day Opening times Document ordering and reader registration times
  • Monday Closed

    Closed

  • Tuesday 09:00 - 19:00 09:00 - 17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00 - 17:00 09:00 - 16:15
  • Thursday 09:00 - 19:00 09:00 - 17:00
  • Friday 09:00 - 17:00 09:00 - 16:15
  • Saturday 09:00 - 17:00 09:00 - 16:15
  • Sunday Closed Closed

  • Closure dates

  • Christmas 2014 Wednesday 24 December to Saturday 27 December (closing at 17:00 on Tuesday 23 December)
  • New Year's Day 2015

    Thursday 1 January

  • Easter 2015 Friday 3 April to Monday 6 April
  • May bank holiday 2015 Saturday 2 May to Monday 4 May
  • Spring bank holiday 2015 Saturday 23 May to Monday 25 May
  • August bank holiday 2015 Saturday 29 August to Monday 31 August
  • Christmas 2015 Thursday 24 December to Monday 28 December
  • New Year's Day 2016 Friday 1 January

All dates are inclusive.

Restaurant, cafe, The Keeper's Gallery and bookshop opening times

Our bookshop is open from 09:00 - 17:00 Tuesday to Saturday. You can also browse and purchase books from our online bookshop.

Our on site museum, The Keeper's Gallery, is open 09:00 - 17:00 Tuesday to Saturday.

  • Day Restaurant Cafe
  • Monday Closed Closed
  • Tuesday

    Breakfast: 08:30 - 10:30
    Lunch 12:00 - 14:30

    08:30 - 18:30
  • Wednesday

    Breakfast: 08:30 - 10:30
    Lunch 12:00 - 14:30

    08:30 - 16:45
  • Thursday

    Breakfast: 08:30 - 10:30
    Lunch 12:00 - 14:30

    08:30 - 18:30
  • Friday

    Breakfast: 08:30 - 10:30
    Lunch 12:00 - 14:30

    08:30 - 16:45
  • Saturday Breakfast: 08:30 - 10:30
    Lunch 12:00 - 14:30
    08:30 - 16:00
  • Sunday Closed Closed