Eight Regional Development Agencies (RDAs) were established in England under the Regional Development Agencies Act 1998 and were launched in April 1999. The ninth RDA, the London Development Agency (LDA), was launched in July 2000 following the establishment of the Greater London Authority. The RDAs were abolished in June 2010 - the eight regional agencies through the Public Bodies Bill and the LDA through the Localism Bill. The organisations will cease to operate by April 2012.

The RDAs had a wide range of responsibilites related to developing the economic prosperity of particular regions of England. At the time the RDAs were abolished their statutory purposes were:

  • To further economic development and regeneration
  • To promote business efficiency, investment and competitiveness
  • To promote employment
  • To enhance development and application of skill relevant to employment
  • To contribute to sustainable development

The National Archives worked with colleagues at the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and the RDAs to ensure that the websites of the organisations were captured as completely as technically possible before they closed.

We have been archiving RDA websites since 2004 and we also provide access through our index pages to some earlier versions which were archived by the Internet Archive. Below are links to the archived RDA websites in our collection.

Northwest Regional Development Agency (NWDA)

One North East

Yorkshire Forward

The Northern Way (collaboration between NWDA, One North East and Yorkshire Forward)

East Midlands Development Agency (EMDA)

Advantage West Midlands

South West RDA

South East England Development Agency (SEEDA)

East of England Development Agency (EEDA)

London Development Agency (LDA)

England's Regional Development Agencies