How to look for records of... Criminal court cases: assize courts 1559-1971

1. Why use this guide?

Use this guide for advice on how to find records of criminal trials held at the assize courts in England, from 1559 to 1971, and Wales, from 1831 to 1971. For information on Welsh trials from 1543–1830, consult the National Library of Wales website. Their Crime and Punishment database contains records of criminal trials as well as other information relating to criminals, punishment and crime in Wales.

Assize courts tended to deal with the more serious criminal offences, although this was not always the case. Cases heard by assize courts typically included homicide, theft, rape and assault among other crimes.

Up to 1733 most assize court records are in Latin.

2. What were assize courts?

Assize courts were the foundation, along with the courts of quarter sessions, of the criminal court system in England and Wales up until 1971. Based in the main county towns in England and Wales, cases were only heard at the courts twice yearly, when judges from the higher courts in London visited and presided over cases.

Often known simply as ‘the assizes’, the courts originally dealt predominantly with property disputes, but their remit soon widened to include criminal cases as well as cases passed on from the central Westminster courts. By about the mid-13th century the courts were dealing with cases of:

• homicide
• theft (stolen goods were often under-valued as worth less than 12d to avoid making it a capital offence)
• highway robbery
• rape
• assault
• coining
• forgery
• witchcraft
• trespass
• vagrancy
• recusancy
• infanticide

Assize courts also heard civil cases, the records of which are covered in our civil assizes guide.

2.1 The timetable

For much of their history the assize courts sat twice yearly, for Lent and Summer assizes. Typically, Lent assizes, also referred to as Spring assizes, were heard in March/April and Summer assizes in July/August, although there could be variations. By the 19th century and into the 20th century the courts sat more regularly, with Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter assizes.

2.2 Judges’ circuits

England and Wales were divided into judicial circuits, each circuit making up the areas covered by the visiting judges. Up until 1876 there were six circuits. They were:

 

• Home, Norfolk and South-Eastern circuits
• Midland circuit
• Northern and North-Eastern circuits
• Oxford circuit
• Welsh circuits including Chester
• Western circuit

3. Record types and the information they contain

Not all assize records have survived as the assize clerks sometimes destroyed them when they ran out of space. Earlier records are less likely to have been kept than later ones.

In terms of information about people, assize records, most commonly, give details of the accused. Typically this includes the name, occupation and place of abode of the accused, but some or all of this information can be unreliable as aliases were often used and other false details were given. The place of abode mentioned is often where the crime took place rather than where the accused lived.

3.1 Crown and gaol books (aka minute books or agenda books)

The best place to begin a search in the assize records is in the Crown and gaol books, also known as minute books or agenda books. These usually list:

• names of the accused
• charges against the accused
• plea
• verdict
• sentence

There may be a separate series of minute books for offences such as the failure of local communities to keep local roads and bridges in a good state of repair. These kinds of ‘public office’ offences were considered criminal offences.

3.2 Indictments

These are the formal statements of the charge against the accused, usually annotated with plea, verdict and sentence.

Indictments were filed in large unwieldy bundles together with other related records, depending on the period and the circuit. Bundled in with indictment records you may also find details of jury panels, coroners’ inquisitions, examinations and depositions, gaol calendars, trial minutes, commissions, presentments of non-criminal offences and recognizances (which give names, parishes of residence and occupation and are usually far more accurate than those given on the indictments themselves).

Each indictment usually gives:

• name of the defendant together with any aliases
• his or her occupation
• a parish of residence
• the date of the alleged offence (by regnal year)
• details of the alleged offence, together with the name of the victim
• a list of prosecution witnesses

The details of the defendant should be treated with caution, especially before the late 19th century. The defendant’s occupation was normally given as ‘labourer’ and the parish of residence is invariably the parish in which the alleged offence took place. The alleged offence is defined by lengthy and formal phrases and some, especially in cases of serious misdemeanour, such as perjury or libel, are several membranes long.

Until 1916, assize indictments were either handwritten or partly printed and partly written on parchment. After 1916 all indictments were prepared using standard, usually pre-printed, forms. These give the jurisdiction and venue, the name of the defendant, the plea, a summary statement of the charge or charges and particulars of the charges.

3.3 Depositions and examinations

Depositions, sometimes known as sessions papers, consist of pre-trial witness statements. However, the survival rate for these records is relatively poor and those that do survive have been heavily weeded. Only depositions in capital cases, usually murder and riot, tend to survive.

Deposition files, especially those from the mid-20th century or later, may also contain items used as trial exhibits, including:

• photographs
• maps
• appeal papers

3.4 Transcripts

Transcripts of what was actually said in court do not normally survive with the records held at The National Archives. A collection of contemporary pamphlet accounts of what was said in court during mostly celebrated trials for the period 1660-1908 is available on microfiche in the reading rooms at The National Archives.

The Old Bailey Online website provides detailed proceedings (although not complete transcripts of what was said) for trials at the London central criminal court.

3.5 Other records

Other assize records can include:

• pleadings
• statements of claim, defence and counterclaim
• draft minutes of trials
• correspondence of the assize clerks, mostly administrative
• coroners’ inquisitions
• jury lists
• financial business including fees and costs
• estreats (records of fines and forfeits)

4. How to search for records

As most assize court records remain available only in their original paper or parchment form (copies are not available online), to search for them and see them you will need to visit us at our building in Kew. Alternatively, if you can establish the record series and document references within the series, you can use our record copying service to have copies sent to you for a charge. Either way, you will need to follow these steps to locate records:

Step 1: Establish where and when the trial took place

If you do not know the date or at least the year of a trial and the county in which the trial took place, you may find your search hits a dead end very quickly. Consult our criminal court cases overview guide for advice on using newspapers, criminal registers and calendars to try to establish these facts.

Step 2: Decide which type of record to look for

Usually, the best place to begin a search in the assize records is the crown and gaol books. To decide which kind of record will be most useful for your research see the information on record types in section 3.

Step 3: Identify the record series

All assize court records at The National Archives are identified by the department code ASSI. You will also need a series number (each circuit has its own set of series) to narrow your search. To find the right record series refer to the keys in the appendices of this guide. For English counties use Appendix 1; for Welsh counties use Appendix 2.

By searching or browsing the right series you will hopefully find a piece number that covers the records of the trial in question. Once you have the piece number you can view the original records in person at The National Archives in Kew or pay for copies to be sent to you.

Appendix 1: Key to records of criminal cases in the English assizes 1559-1971

Click on the links in the table to search or browse through the respective series in our catalogue. See section 4 for detailed advice on how to search. For advice on whether to browse or search, see our Discovery help pages.

Of the pre-19th century depositions that have survived, most are from northern counties. Of the pre-19th century Midland circuit records, most that survive are from after 1818.

Bristol assize records prior to 1832 are held by Bristol Record Office.

In 1830 the palatinate of Chester (Cheshire) joined the assizes court system. Durham and Lancaster (Lancashire) merged into the assizes system in 1876. Prior to these years you will need to consult the Palatinate of Chester court records, the Palatinate of Durham court records or the Palatinate of Lancaster court records.

County	Crown & Gaol Books		Indictments		Depositions		Other
Bedfordshire	1863-1876 1734-1863 1876-1945	ASSI 32 ASSI 33 ASSI 11	1658-1698 1693-1850 1851-1971	ASSI 16 ASSI 94 ASSI 95	1832-1876 1876-1971	ASSI 36 ASSI 13	ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 15, ASSI 90
Berkshire	1657-1971 1847-1951	ASSI 2 ASSI 3	1650-1971	ASSI 5	1719-1971	ASSI 6	ASSI 4, ASSI 9, ASSI 10, ASSI 93, ASSI 89
Bucks	1863-1876 1734-1863 1876-1945	ASSI 32 ASSI 33 ASSI 11	1642-1699 1695-1850 1851-1971	ASSI 16 ASSI 94 ASSI 95	1832-1876 1876-1971	ASSI 36 ASSI 13	ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 15, ASSI 90
Cambridgeshire	1902-1943 1863-1971 1734-1863	ASSI 31 ASSI 32 ASSI 33	1642-1699 1692-1850 1851-1971	ASSI 16 ASSI 94 ASSI 95	1834-1971	ASSI 36	ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 90
Cheshire	1532-1831 1831-1938 1835-1883 1945-1951	CHES 21 ASSI 61 ASSI 62 ASSI 79	1341-1659 1831-1945 1945-1971	CHES 24 ASSI 64 ASSI 83	1831-1944 1945-1971	ASSI 65 ASSI 84	ASSI 59, ASSI 63, ASSI 66, ASSI 67, ASSI 91
Cornwall	1730-1971 1670-1824	ASSI 21 ASSI 23	1801-1971	ASSI 25	1861-1971 1951-1953	ASSI 26 ASSI 82	ASSI 24, ASSI 30, ASSI 92
Cumberland	1714-1873 1665-1810	ASSI 41 ASSI 42	1607-1876 1877-1971	ASSI 44 ASSI 51	1613-1876 1877-1971	ASSI 45 ASSI 52	ASSI 43, ASSI 46, ASSI 47, ASSI 93
Derbs	1818-1945	ASSI 11	1868-1971 1662,67,87	ASSI 12 ASSI 80	1862-1971	ASSI 13	ASSI 15, ASSI 88
Devon	1746-1971 1670-1824	ASSI 21 ASSI 23	1801-1971	ASSI 25	1861-1971 1951-1953	ASSI 26 ASSI 82	ASSI 24, ASSI 30, ASSI 92
Dorset	1746-1971 1670-1824	ASSI 21 ASSI 23	1801-1971	ASSI 25	1861-1971 1951-1953	ASSI 26 ASSI 82	ASSI 24, ASSI 30, ASSI 92
Durham	1770-1876 1753-1858 1858-1944	DURH 15 DURH 16 ASSI 41	1582-1877 1876-1971	DURH 17 ASSI 44	1843-1876 1877-1971	DURH 18 ASSI 45	DURH 19, ASSI 46, ASSI 47, ASSI 87, ASSI 93
Essex	1734-1943 1826-1971	ASSI 31 ASSI 32	1559-1688 1689-1850 1851-1971	ASSI 35* ASSI 94 ASSI 95	1825-1971	ASSI 36	ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 90
County	Crown & Gaol Books		Indictments		Depositions		Other
Glos	1657-1971 1847-1951	ASSI 2 ASSI 3	1662-1971	ASSI 5	1719-1971	ASSI 6	ASSI 4, ASSI 9, ASSI 10, ASSI 89, ASSI 93
Hampshire	1746-1971 1670-1824	ASSI 21 ASSI 23	1801-1971	ASSI 25	1861-1971 1951-1953	ASSI 26 ASSI 82	ASSI 24, ASSI 30, ASSI 92
Herefordshire	1657-1971 1847-1951	ASSI 2 ASSI 3	1627-1971	ASSI 5	1719-1971	ASSI 6	ASSI 4, ASSI 9, ASSI 10, ASSI 89, ASSI 93
Hertfordshire	1734-1943 1826-1971	ASSI 31 ASSI 32	1573-1688 1689-1850 1851-1971	ASSI 35 ASSI 94 ASSI 95	1829-1971	ASSI 36	ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 90
Hunts	1902-1943 1863-1971 1734-1863	ASSI 31 ASSI 32 ASSI 33	1643-1698 1693-1850 1851-1971	ASSI 16 ASSI 94 ASSI 95	1851-1971	ASSI 36	ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 90
Kent	1734-1943 1826-1971	ASSI 31 ASSI 32	1559-1688 1689-1850 1851-1971	ASSI 35 ASSI 94 ASSI 95	1812-1971	ASSI 36	ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 90
Lancashire	1524-1843 1686-1877	PL 25 PL 28	1660-1867 1877-1971	PL 26 ASSI 51	1663-1867 1877-1971	PL 27 ASSI 52	PL 28 ASSI 46, ASSI 53, ASSI 93, ASSI 86
Leics	1818-1864 1864-1875 1876-1945	ASSI 11 ASSI 32 ASSI 11	1653, 1656 1864-1875 1876-1971	ASSI 80 ASSI 35 ASSI 12	1862 1863-1875 1876-1971	ASSI 13 ASSI 36 ASSI 13	ASSI 15, ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 88
Lincolnshire	1818-1945	ASSI 11	1868-1971 1652-1679	ASSI 12 ASSI 80	1862-1971	ASSI 13	ASSI 15, ASSI 88
London & Middlesex	1834-1949	CRIM 6	1834-1957 1833-1971	CRIM 4 CRIM 5	1839-1971 1923-1971	CRIM 1 CRIM 2	CRIM 7, CRIM 8, CRIM 9, CRIM 10, CRIM 11, CRIM 12, CRIM 13
Monm	1657-1971 1847-1951	ASSI 2 ASSI 3	1666-1971	ASSI 5	1719-1971	ASSI 6	ASSI 4, ASSI 9, ASSI 10, ASSI 89, ASSI 93
Norfolk	1902-1943 1863-1971 1734-1863	ASSI 31 ASSI 32 ASSI 33	1606-1699 1692-1850 1851-1971	ASSI 16 ASSI 94 ASSI 95	1817-1971	ASSI 36	ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 90
Northants	1818-1864 1864-1876 1876-1945	ASSI 11 ASSI 32 ASSI 11	1659-1660 1864-1675 1876-1971	ASSI 80 ASSI 95 ASSI 12	1862 1864-1875 1876-1971	ASSI 13 ASSI 36 ASSI 13	ASSI 15, ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 88
County	Crown & Gaol Books		Indictments		Depositions		Other
Northumberland	1714-1944 1665-1810	ASSI 41 ASSI 42	1607-1971	ASSI 44	1613-1971	ASSI 45	ASSI 43, ASSI 46, ASSI 47, ASSI 87, ASSI 93
Notts	1818-1945	ASSI 11	1868-1971 1663-4, 82	ASSI 12 ASSI 80	1862-1971	ASSI 13	ASSI 15, ASSI 88
Oxford	1657-1971 1847-1951	ASSI 2 ASSI 3	1661-1971 1688	ASSI 5 PRO 30/80	1719-1971	ASSI 6	ASSI 4, ASSI 9, ASSI 10, ASSI 89, ASSI 93
Rutland	1818-1864 1864-1876 1876-1945	ASSI 11 ASSI 32 ASSI 11	1667, 1685 1864-1875 1876-1971	ASSI 80 ASSI 95 ASSI 12	1862 1864-1873 1876-1971	ASSI 13 ASSI 36 ASSI 13	ASSI 15, ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 88
Shropshire (Salop)	1657-1971 1847-1951	ASSI 2 ASSI 3	1654-1971	ASSI 5	1719-1971	ASSI 6	ASSI 4, ASSI 9, ASSI 10, ASSI 89, ASSI 93
Somerset	1730-1971 1670-1824	ASSI 21 ASSI 23	1801-1971	ASSI 25	1861-1971 1951-1953	ASSI 26 ASSI 82	ASSI 24, ASSI 30, ASSI 92
Staffs	1657-1971 1847-1951	ASSI 2 ASSI 3	1662-1971 1662	ASSI 5 ASSI 80	1719-1971	ASSI 6	ASSI 4, ASSI 9, ASSI 10, ASSI 89, ASSI 93
Suffolk	1902-1943 1863-1971 1734-1863	ASSI 31 ASSI 32 ASSI 33	1653-1698 1689-1850 1851-1971	ASSI 16 ASSI 94 ASSI 95	1832-1971	ASSI 36	ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 90
Surrey	1734-1943 1826-1971	ASSI 31 ASSI 32	1559-1688 1689-1850 1851-	ASSI 35 ASSI 94 ASSI 95	1820-1971	ASSI 36	ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 90
Sussex	1734-1943 1826-1971	ASSI 31 ASSI 32	1559-1688 1689-1850 1851-1971	ASSI 35 ASSI 94 ASSI 95	1812-1971	ASSI 36	ASSI 34, ASSI 38, ASSI 39, ASSI 90
Warw	1818-1945	ASSI 11	1868-1971 1652, 1688	ASSI 12 ASSI 80	1862-1971	ASSI 13	ASSI 15, ASSI 88
Westmor	1714-1873 1718-1810	ASSI 41 ASSI 42	1607-1876 1877-1971	ASSI 44 ASSI 51	1613-1876 1877-1971	ASSI 45 ASSI 52	ASSI 43, ASSI 46, ASSI 47, ASSI 53, ASSI 86, ASSI 93
Wilts	1746-1971 1670-1824	ASSI 21 ASSI 23	1729 1801-1971	ASSI 25 ASSI 25	1861-1971 1951-1953	ASSI 26 ASSI 82	ASSI 24, ASSI 30, ASSI 92
Worcs	1657-1971 1847-1951	ASSI 2 ASSI 3	1662-1971	ASSI 5	1719-1971	ASSI 6	ASSI 4, ASSI 9, ASSI 10, ASSI 89, ASSI 93
Yorks**	1658-1811 1718-1863 1864-1876 1876-1944	ASSI 42 ASSI 41 ASSI 11 ASSI 41	1607-1863 1868-1875 1876-1971	ASSI 44 ASSI 12 ASSI 44	1613-1863 1868-1875 1876 1971 1877-1971	ASSI 45 ASSI 13 ASSI 45 ASSI 52	ASSI 15, ASSI 43, ASSI 46, ASSI 47, ASSI 87, ASSI 93

* You can search by name and the term ‘assize’ for the calendars of Essex Assizes indictments in ASSI 35 (1558-1714) on the Essex Record Office catalogue.

** For Yorkshire there are two series of Crown & Gaol Books for the earlier period so you will need to check both.

Appendix 2: Key to records of criminal cases in the Welsh assizes 1831-1971

Click on the links in the table to search or browse through the respective series in our catalogue. See section 4 for detailed advice on how to search. For advice on whether to browse or search, see our Discovery help pages.

County	Crown & Gaol Books		Indictments		Depositions		Other
Anglesey	1831-1938 1835-1883 1945-1951	ASSI 61 ASSI 62 ASSI 79	1831-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 64 ASSI 83	1831-1944 1945-1971	ASSI 65 ASSI 84	ASSI 59, ASSI 63, ASSI 66, ASSI 67
Breconshire	1841-1842 1844-1946 1945-1951	ASSI 74 ASSI 76 ASSI 79	1834-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 71 ASSI 83	1837-1971 1945-1971	ASSI 72 ASSI 84	ASSI 73, ASSI 77
Caernarvonshire	1831-1938 1835-1983 1945-1951	ASSI 61 ASSI 62 ASSI 79	1831-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 64 ASSI 83	1831-1944 1945-1971	ASSI 65 ASSI 84	ASSI 59, ASSI 63, ASSI 66, ASSI 67
Cardiganshire	1841-1842 1844-1946 1945-1951	ASSI 74 ASSI 76 ASSI 79	1834-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 71 ASSI 83	1837-1971 1945-1971	ASSI 72 ASSI 84	ASSI 73, ASSI 77
Carmarthenshire	1841-1842 1844-1946 1945-1951	ASSI 74 ASSI 76 ASSI 79	1834-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 71 ASSI 83	1837-1971 1945-1971	ASSI 72 ASSI 84	ASSI 73, ASSI 77
Denbighshire	1831-1938 1835-1883 1945-1951	ASSI 61 ASSI 62 ASSI 79	1831-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 64 ASSI 83	1831-1944 1945-1971	ASSI 65 ASSI 84	ASSI 59, ASSI 63, ASSI 66, ASSI 67
Flint	1831-1938 1835-1883 1945-1951	ASSI 61 ASSI 62 ASSI 79	1831-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 64 ASSI 83	1831-1944 1945-1971	ASSI 65 ASSI 84	ASSI 59, ASSI 63, ASSI 66, ASSI 67
Glamorganshire	1841-1842 1844-1946 1945-1951	ASSI 74 ASSI 76 ASSI 79	1834-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 71 ASSI 83	1837-1971 1945-1971	ASSI 72 ASSI 84	ASSI 73, ASSI 77
Merionethshire	1831-1938 1835-1883 1945-1951	ASSI 61 ASSI 62 ASSI 79	1831-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 64 ASSI 83	1831-1944 1945-1971	ASSI 65 ASSI 84	ASSI 59, ASSI 63, ASSI 66, ASSI 67
Montgomeryshire	1831-1938 1835-1883 1945-1951	ASSI 61 ASSI 62 ASSI 79	1831-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 64 ASSI 83	1831-1944 1945-1971	ASSI 65 ASSI 84	ASSI 59, ASSI 63, ASSI 66, ASSI 67
Pembrokeshire	1841-1842 1844-1946 1945-1951	ASSI 74 ASSI 76 ASSI 79	1834-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 71 ASSI 83	1837-1971 1945-1971	ASSI 72 ASSI 84	ASSI 73, ASSI 77
Radnor	1841-1842 1844-1946 1945-1951	ASSI 74 ASSI 76 ASSI 79	1834-1945 1945-1971	ASSI 71 ASSI 83	1837-1971 1945-1971	ASSI 72 ASSI 84	ASSI 73, ASSI 77

Appendix 3: Latin abbreviations still used in the records after 1733

Until 1733 (with the exception of the period of the interregnum), records were written in Latin and in distinctive legal scripts. The annotations on indictments are often in Latin abbreviations which remained in use even after 1733.

Latin abbreviation	Full Latin version	English translation
ca null	catalla nulla	no goods/chattels to forfeit
cog ind	cognovit indictamentum	confessed to the indictment
cul	culpabilis	guilty
ign	ignoramus	we do not know, that is, no case to answer
non cul nec re	non culpabilis nec retraxit	not guilty and did not flee
po se	ponit se super patriam	puts himself on the country (that is, opts for jury trial and pleads not guilty)
sus	suspendatur	let him be hanged