Opening times

You can view original documents in the reading rooms from 09:00 Tuesday to Saturday.

Day Opening times Document ordering and
reader registration times
Monday Closed Closed
Tuesday 09:00 – 19:00 09:00 – 17:00
Wednesday 09:00 – 17:00 09:00 – 16:15
Thursday 09:00 – 19:00 09:00 – 17:00
Friday 09:00 – 17:00 09:00 – 16:15
Saturday 09:00 – 17:00 09:00 – 16:15
Sunday Closed Closed
Closure dates All dates listed are inclusive
Christmas 2017 Saturday 23 December to Wednesday 27 December
New Year’s Day 2018 Saturday 30 December to Monday 1 January
Easter Friday 30 March to Monday 2 April (closing at 17:00 on Thursday 29 March)
May Bank Holiday Saturday 5 May to Monday 7 May
Spring Bank Holiday Saturday 26 May to Monday 28 May
August Bank Holiday Saturday 25 August to Monday 27 August

Restaurant, cafe, The Keeper’s Gallery and bookshop

Our bookshop is open from 09:00 to 17:00 Tuesday to Saturday. You can also browse and purchase books from our online bookshop.

Day Resturant Cafe
Monday Closed Closed
Tuesday Breakfast: 08:30 – 10:30
Lunch 12:00 – 14:30
08:00 – 18:30
Wednesday Breakfast: 08:30 – 10:30
Lunch 12:00 – 14:30
08:00 – 16:45
Thursday Breakfast: 08:30 – 10:30
Lunch 12:00 – 14:30
08:00 – 18:30
Friday Breakfast: 08:30 – 10:30
Lunch 12:00 – 14:30
08:00 – 16:45
Saturday Breakfast: 08:30 – 10:30
Lunch 12:00 – 14:30
08:30 – 16:00
Sunday Closed Closed