All research guides
Family history
First World War
Second World War
Military and maritime
Social and cultural history
Criminals, courts and prisons
Political and economic history
Foreign and colonial history
Land and maps
Medieval and early modern history
Records for current legal purposes
Online collections
How to look for records of...
-
Political history in the medieval era – an overview
Recommended guideKeywords: medieval periodpolitical history (general) -
Political history in the modern era, 1782 onwards – an overview
Recommended guideKeywords: 19th century20th centurypolitical history (general) - Agricultural statistics of England and Wales
Keywords: agriculturedatasetsfarms and farmingstatistics - Aliens’ registration cards 1918-1957
Keywords: digitised recordsonline collections All records viewable online - American and West Indian colonies before 1782
Keywords: americacaribbeancoloniesstate papers - American Revolution
Keywords: americaamerican revolutioncolonies - Black British social and political history in the 20th century
Keywords: africanblackblack britishcaribbeancivil rightsrace relationswest indian - Bomb Census survey 1940-1945
Keywords: air raidsbomb censuscasualties of wardatasetssecond world warstatisticssurveysworld war two - British and Commonwealth prisoners of the First World War and previous wars
Keywords: first world warpowsprisoners of warworld war one - British Army operations after 1945
Keywords: armybritish armykorean warregiments and corpswar diaries - British Army operations up to 1913
Keywords: armyboer warbritish armycrimean warnapoleonic warsregiments and corps - Cabinet and its committees
Keywords: cabinet officefirst world warinternational relationssecond world warworld war oneworld war two - Civil or crown servants
Keywords: civil servantscrown servantsgovernment employeesroyal household - Civilian gallantry medals, honours and other awards
Keywords: awardscivilian gallantry awardsgallantry medalshonoursmedals - Coastguard officers
Keywords: coastguard - Coastguard stations and administration
Keywords: coastguardcustoms (tax)shipping - Colonies and dependencies 1815-1870: using Colonial Office indexes to locate correspondence
Keywords: british empirecolonies - Colonies and dependencies 1820-1850: using Colonial Office registers to locate correspondence
Keywords: british empirecolonies - Colonies and dependencies 1850-1926: using Colonial Office registers to locate correspondence
Keywords: british empirecoloniescommonwealth of nationsdominions (british) - Colonies and dependencies from 1782
Keywords: british empirecoloniescommonwealth of nationsdominions (british) - Companies and businesses
Keywords: business historycompanies and businessesindustrylabour history - Company and business history records held by other archives
Keywords: business historycompanies and businessesindustrylabour historytrade and industry - Courts of law records from the medieval period: general eyres 1194-1348
Keywords: civil litigationcourts of lawcrime and criminalscriminal courtseyres (general)general eyreslaw and ordermedieval periodtrials - Crown, church and royalist lands 1642-1660
Keywords: church landscivil war (english)early modern periodestates (landed gentry)landland ownership - Dissolution of the monasteries 1536-1540
Keywords: abbeyschurch landsdissolution of the monasteriesearly modern periodmonasteriesreligious history - Domesday Book
Keywords: datasetsdigitised recordsdomesday booklandland ownershipmedieval periodonline collectionsstatisticssurveys All records viewable online - Economic policy and government spending in the 20th century
Keywords: cabinet officeeconomic historyfinancial records of governmenttaxationtreasury - Education history records held by other archives
Keywords: collegeseducation historyschoolsuniversities - Electoral registration
Keywords: electoral registers - Emigration and emigrants
Keywords: america (emigration to)australia (emigration to)canada (emigration to)emigrationmigrationnew zealand (emigration to) - Empire and Commonwealth records held by other archives
Keywords: british empirecoloniescommonwealth of nationsdominions (british) - Enclosure awards and maps
Keywords: enclosure (land)landland ownershipmaps - Foreign affairs before 1509
Keywords: diplomacyforeign affairsinternational relationsmedieval period - Foreign Office and Foreign and Commonwealth Office records from 1782
Keywords: commonwealth of nationscontrol commissiondiplomacyforeign affairsforeign officeinternational relationstreaties - Foreign Office correspondence 1906-1919
Keywords: diplomacyforeign affairsforeign officeinternational relations - French lands of the English kings
Keywords: early modern periodfrance (english lands in)landland ownership - German Foreign Ministry and Italian documents 1867-1945 captured by the British
Keywords: german foreign ministrynazi germanysecond world warworld war two - Government surveys, statistics and other datasets from the National Digital Archive of Datasets, 1963-2010
Keywords: datasetsdigital datasetsdigitised recordsnational digital archive of datasetsonline collectionsstatisticssurveys All records viewable online - Historical education policy and administration: inspection reports
Keywords: collegeseducation historyinspection of schoolspoor lawsschools - Home Office correspondence from 1782
Keywords: crime and criminalshealthhome officepoverty - Immigration and immigrants
Keywords: aliens (foreign nationals)british citizenshipimmigrationinterneesmigrationnaturalisationpassengers - Intelligence and security services
Keywords: espionageintelligence and security servicesmi5 and mi6security servicesspecial operations executive - International boundaries
Keywords: borders (international)boundaries (international)coloniesdiplomacyforeign affairsinternational relationsmaps - Ireland’s Easter Rising 1916
Keywords: courts martialeaster rising (ireland)ireland - Irish maps c.1558-c.1610
Keywords: digitised recordsearly modern periodirelandmapsonline collections All records viewable online - Jacobite Risings 1715 and 1745
Keywords: jacobitesscotland - Jewish people and communities in Britain and its former colonies
Keywords: anglo jewish historyemigrationimmigrationjewish historymigration - Labour history records held by other archives
Keywords: industrylabour historytrade unions - League of Nations
Keywords: first world warforeign affairsinternational relationsleague of nationsworld war one - Letters and papers of Henry VIII
Keywords: early modern periodhenry viiipolitical history (general)state papers - Looted art 1939-1961
Keywords: art and artistsdigitised recordsforeign affairsinternational relationsonline collectionssecond world warworld war two All records viewable online - Manors and manorial records
Keywords: early modern periodlandland ownershipmanorsmaps - Maps and plans
Keywords: early modern periodmapsplans - Medieval customs’ accounts
Keywords: customs (tax)excise (tax)inland revenuemedieval periodpipe rollstaxation - Medieval financial records: pipe rolls 1130-c.1300
Keywords: economic historyexchequerfinancial records of governmentpipe rolls - Merchant Navy ships’ records: registration of merchant ships
Keywords: merchant navynavyshipping - Merchant trade records: port books 1565-1799
Keywords: customs (tax)merchant navyport bookstaxation - Mines and mining
Keywords: business historycoal miningindustrylabour historymining - Napoleonic wars and the war of 1812 – an overview
Keywords: napoleonic warswars - National Farm Survey of England and Wales 1941-1943
Keywords: agriculturedatasetsfarms and farminglandland ownershipmapsnational farm surveystatisticssurveys - Naturalisation, registration and British citizenship
Keywords: aliens (foreign nationals)british citizenshipcertificates of british citizenshipimmigrationmigrationnaturalisation - Nazi persecution and the Holocaust
Keywords: control commissionforeign officeholocaustjewish historynazi germanysecond world warwar crimesworld war two - Oaths of loyalty to the Crown and Church of England
Keywords: early modern periodlawyersnonconformistsoath rollsreligious historysacrament certificates - Other countries and territories – an overview
Keywords: diplomacyforeign affairsforeign officeinternational relations - Overseas maps and plans
Keywords: borders (international)boundaries (international)british empirecoloniesinternational relationsmapsplans - Parliament
Keywords: legislationparliamentpolitical history (general) - Political history in the 16th and 17th centuries
Keywords: 16th century17th centuryearly modern periodpolitical history (general) - Political history in the 18th century
Keywords: 18th centuryearly modern periodpolitical history (general) - Poverty and the Poor Laws
Keywords: pauperspoor lawspovertyworkhouses - Prime Minister’s Office records
Keywords: prime ministerssecond world warworld war two - Privy Council since 1386
Keywords: early modern periodforeign affairslaw and orderlegislationprivy council - Propaganda
Keywords: first world warpropagandasecond world warworld war oneworld war two - Public health and social policy in the 19th century
Keywords: epidemicshealthpolitical history (general) - Public health and social policy in the 20th century
Keywords: diseaseshealthmedical servicesmental healthpolitical history (general)welfare - Royal grants in letters patent and charters from 1199
Keywords: chartersearly modern periodlandland ownershipletters patentpatent rollsroyal grants - Royal Household and Wardrobe
Keywords: crown servantsearly modern periodroyal householdroyal servantsroyal warrant holderstradesmen - Royal Navy operations and policy after 1945
Keywords: admiraltyfleet air armnavyroyal navy - Seals
Keywords: heraldryseals - Sir Anthony Eden’s private office papers 1935-1946
Keywords: digitised recordsdiplomacyforeign affairsforeign officeinternational relationsonline collectionsprivate paperssecond world warworld war two All records viewable online - Slavery and the British transatlantic slave trade
Keywords: abolition of slaverybritish empirecaribbeancoloniesslavery - State Papers Domestic 1547-1649: Tudor and Stuart government papers
Keywords: 16th century17th centurycivil war (english)early modern periodpolitical history (general)state papers - State Papers Domestic 1642-1660: Government papers from the Civil Wars and Interregnum
Keywords: 17th centurycivil war (english)commonwealth 1649-1660early modern periodpolitical history (general)state papers - State Papers Domestic 1660-1714: Stuart government papers after the Restoration
Keywords: 17th century18th centuryearly modern periodpolitical history (general)state papers - State Papers Domestic 1714-1782: Hanoverian government papers
Keywords: 18th centuryearly modern periodjacobitespolitical history (general)state papers - State Papers Foreign 1509-1782: Government papers on foreign affairs
Keywords: 16th century17th century18th centurydiplomacyearly modern periodforeign affairsinternational relationsstate papers - State Papers Ireland 1509-1782: government papers on Irish affairs
Keywords: 16th century17th century18th centuryearly modern periodirelandstate papers - Taxation
Keywords: economic historyfinancial records of governmentinland revenuetaxation - Taxation before 1689
Keywords: economic historyexchequerfinancial records of governmenthearth taxtaxation - The South African War, 1899-1902 (or Second Boer War) – an overview
Keywords: boer warsouth african warwars - The Troubles in Northern Ireland
Keywords: irelandnorthern ireland - Tithes
Keywords: datasetslandland ownershipmapsstatisticssurveystaxationtithes - Towns and cities
Keywords: citiestowns - Treasury Board letters and papers 1557-1920
Keywords: early modern periodeconomic historyfinancial records of governmentinland revenuetaxationtreasury - UFOs
Keywords: ufos - Women’s suffrage
Keywords: civil rightssuffragettessuffragistsvotes for women