Research guides

…As the 1931 census for England and Wales was destroyed by fire during the Second World War and no census was taken in 1941, the Register provides the most complete survey of the population of England and Wales between 1921 and 1951, making it an invaluable resource for family, social and local historians. …

…The National Archives holds copies of all UK census records from 1841-1921. …

…In 1801 another crop census was undertaken alongside the first 'people' census as the government sought to compare the two sets of data. …

…as well as the standard sources such as census and land tax returns. …

…Surviving census records will normally be found in the country of origin, and not The National Archives. …

…jurisdiction of the Registrar General of England and Wales for census but not civil registration purposes. …

…Bomb Census’. Initially, only information relating to London, Birmingham and Liverpool was collated, but by September 1941 the Bomb Census had been extended to cover the rest of the UK. …

…a pension record but a useful alternative source is the census. Many individuals are listed on census records as “Army pensioner”. …

…Census records The most popular source for tracing relatives at The National Archives are the census records. …

…from 1841 to 1921 and provides information on using the census returns of: England Wales the Channel Islands the Isle of Man vessels in English and Welsh ports and inland waterways from 1861 onwards the British Army overseas (1911 and 1921 only) RAF bases overseas (1921 only) All later censuses remain in the custody of the Office for National Statistics. …

…or census records, which would have remained in place at independence. …

…including 1828 census) from 1788 Tasmania (Van Diemen’s Land) from 1846 5. …

…Census records 1851-1911 Search and view census records from 1851 to 1911 through Ancestry () or free of charge at The National Archives building in Kew. …

…It is not a census of the population, and the individuals named in it are almost exclusively land-holders. …

…which include a census of the white population in Barbados from 1715. …

…bomb census maps in HO 193 surveys of air-raid damage in HO 192 other Ministry of Home Security series in the HO department War Damage Commission records in IR 33-39 See our Bomb Census survey guide for more information. …

…Ecclesiastical census returns of churches and chapels, endowments, sittings, estimated attendances on 30 March 1851 and average numbers during the preceding twelve months. …

…census returns The National Archives keeps orders of the court of Chancery up to 1955. …

…as well as the standard sources such as census and land tax returns. …

…In this example the Schools Census was taken annually, and there is one set of data for each year. …

…The School Census (Form 7) Datasets in CRDA 13/ED 267 contain statistical details of nursery schools. …

…Parish files and the educational census of 1871 The 1870 Elementary Education Act established a national system of elementary education. …

…ED 15 for surviving returns of a census of private schools made under the provisions of the Education Acts 1918 and 1921. …

…most significantly the census years, every ten years from 1841 to 1921; the Valuation Office Survey years from 1910 to 1915; and the year of the 1939 Register). …

…Census records Most 19th-century Irish census returns were lost in the fire at the Four Courts in Dublin in 1922. …

…religion was not a question in the census until 2001; the most recent census available for details of individuals is 1911). …

…Census records and the 1939 register record occupancy of property but not ownership. …

…called Common Lands Census of 1873-1874 which was published as House of Commons Sessional Papers 1874 lii 383. …

…2 1871 census maps View digital versions of the original maps from the 1871 census (RG 18) on the Cassinimaps () website. …

…World War Two Bomb Census maps are in HO 193, there is full coverage of the London civil defence region but less for other towns and cities. …

…see our guide to the Bomb Census survey. …

…Tudor and Stuart muster rolls do not represent a complete census of the male population. …

…Three of these forms were effectively an enlarged 1941 farm census return, posted to the farmer for him to complete on 4 June 1941. …

…Census records from North America Any surviving formal census for North America will have been preserved in the archives of the respective countries and states within North America. …

…From 1851 trades could be listed in the census in order of importance and these records are held at The National Archives. …

…National Registration Office in England in 1940 and at the census office in Acton, London in 1931. …

…Prisoners listed in census records (1841-1911) Search census records (charges apply) for England and Wales from 1841 to 1911 by name of prisoner online. …

…Prisons listed in census records (1841-1911) Search census records () for England and Wales from 1841 to 1911 online. …

…the birth or marriage certificate of a marine or the census to find his address. …

…the birth or marriage certificate of a marine or the census to find his address. …

…were directed to every parish or township listed in the census returns. …

…consult historical population reports based upon statistics gathered through the census and . …

…tax evasion and census boycotts. …

…census in England and Wales 1841 to 1921 (charges apply). …